Dictionaries
Go here to find the IVP Dictionaries online: IVP Dictionary Series
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd Ed.) This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly introductions to topics in Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarly introductions to topics including patriarchy, emperors, culture, and Orthodoxy, from the 4th century to the 15th.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowConsists of biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly introductions to subjects such as theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the Bible, the Church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarly introductions to all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, such as art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
