Handbooks (Online)
-
Oxford Handbook of Methodist StudiesDiscusses the founders, history, structures, and theology of Methodism. Key themes explored include worship forms, mission, ecumenism, and engagement with contemporary ethical and political debate.
-
Oxford Handbook of the British Sermon 1689-1901Incorporates historical, theological, rhetorical, literary, and linguistic studies to demonstrate the interdisciplinary strength of the field of sermon studies and to show the centrality of sermons to religious life in this period.
-
Oxford Handbook of British Philosophy in the Eighteenth CenturyExamines British philosophy in an eighteenth-century context.
Dictionaries (Online)
-
The Dictionary of Methodism in Britain and IrelandAn expanded version of the printed volume published by the Epworth Press in 2000.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowConsists of biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
-
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly introductions to subjects such as theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the Bible, the Church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.
Encyclopedias (Online)
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly coverage of the Enlightenment in Western Europe, North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
Encyclopedias (On Campus)
-
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
by
ISBN: 9780253346858Publication Date: 2006-04-19Provides an interreligious, interracial, and multicultural description and analysis of women and religion.
