Why Search for Dissertations?
- Recently published dissertations offer the most current research.
- If you can find a dissertation that covers a topic similar to yours, you can use the bibliography to inspire your own research.
- Reading dissertations gives you a good idea of what a dissertation should look like. At ATS, dissertations with honors have titles printed in gold letters on the binding.
Recommended Databases
Use the links below to find dissertations and theses. If a pdf is not available, it may be possible to get all or part of it through library loan.
Links with a 
require a OneATS login. Other links may require you to create a separate account to access the material.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowContains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from a wide variety of disciplines.
- WorldShare (WorldCat) This link opens in a new windowContains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Offers more advanced search features than Open WorldCat.
- ePlace This link opens in a new windowIncludes dissertations, syllabi, chapel services, images, First Fruits publications, and other materials that have been published by Asbury Seminary including the Asbury Journal.
International Discovery Services
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowSearches some full-text theses and dissertations from universities in the US, Mexico, Canada, Europe, South Africa, and China.
- OpenDOAR This link opens in a new windowConsists of primary source and scholarly resources from universities and governments worldwide. OpenDOAR provides links and a search to academic open access (free) databases.
- phdData This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowContains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from a wide variety of disciplines.
- Registry of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new windowOffers free access to original research, dissertations, and theses in a wide variety of fields.
- WorldShare (WorldCat) This link opens in a new windowContains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Offers more advanced search features than Open WorldCat.
Asia
- KERIS RISS database This link opens in a new windowKorean Language - Searches dissertations and theses from Korean universities. Some are available in PDF format free of charge.
Australia
- Trove This link opens in a new windowConsists of Australian material including dissertations, newspapers, and other archival material.
Europe
- DART - Europe E-theses Portal This link opens in a new windowSearches theses from European Universities. DART contains open access theses, which means full-text articles are available at no cost.
- abes – agence bibliographique de l’enseignement supérieur This link opens in a new windowFrench Language - Includes doctoral theses from French universities.
- EThOS This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of electronic theses from participating institutions of higher education in the UK.
- SCOLER - Sheffield Centre Online Library of Evangelism Research This link opens in a new windowContains dissertations and evangelism resources, focusing primarily on the United Kingdom.
North America
- American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new windowThe enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
- Theses Canada This link opens in a new windowContains bibliographic records of Canadian theses and dissertations. Library and Archives Canada provides electronic copies where possible and will otherwise lend through library loan.
South America
- Cybertesis (Chile) This link opens in a new windowContains full text access to electronic theses published in universities around the world including Latin America, Europe, and North America.
