Archives and Special Collections

(2014) Building the Old Time Religion: Women Evangelists in the Progressive Era.

By Pricilla Pope-Levinson (winner of the 2015 Smith/Wynkoop Book Award from the Wesleyan Theological Society and a 2014 Choice Outstanding Academic Title), New York University Press.

Asbury Theological Seminary mentioned in the acknowledgements.

(2014) The Furnace of Affliction: Prisms and Religion in Antebellum America.

By Jennifer Graber, University of North Carolina Press.

Asbury Theological Seminary Library is thanked in the acknowledgements (page xi).

(2013) Mississippi Praying: Southern White Evangelicals and the Civil Rights

Movement, 1945-1975.

By Carolyn Renée Dupont (winner of the 2013 Frank S. and Elizabeth D. Brewer Prize from the American Society of Church History), New York University Press.

In the acknowledgements, “I also appreciate the expertise of … Grace Yoder and Eugene Quek at the … Library at Asbury Theological Seminary.” (Page xi).

Non-Asbury Scholars

(2013) Joseph Smale: God’s ‘Moses’ for Pentecostalism (Studies in Evangelical History

and Thought series)

By Tim Welch and Allan Anderson, Paternoster. 

In the acknowledgements it lists “Grace Yoder (Asbury Theological Seminary, Wilmore, Kentucky)” as one of the archivists who “have assisted my research over the past decade.”

(2011) Disfellowshiped: Pentecostal Responses to Fundamentalism in the United

States.

By Gerald W. King. Princeton Theological Monograph (Book 164).

In the acknowledgements, “The staff at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky made my nine-month stay there in 2007 enjoyable and productive. Grace Yoder and her student helpers Tom and Carolyn, who helped sift through materials in the archives, not to mention the library staff. Dorothy James amazed me with her ability at tracking down obscure articles and deserves encomium.” (Page xiii).

(2009) Meanings of Maternity and Medicine for Japanese and Filipino Women on

Hawai’I’s Sugar Plantations, 1919-1946: Culture, Economics, and Generation.

Ph.D. dissertation in History at University of California, Santa Barbara. By

Sharleen Naomi Nakomoto Levine. Asbury mentioned n the

acknowledgments for help with the Martha Jones collection and mailing

copies of material to Hawai’i.

(2008) Who Healeth All Thy Diseases: Health, Healing, and Holiness in the Church of

God Reformation Movement (Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies series)

By Michael S. Stephens, Scarecrow Press.

In the acknowledgements, “This study would not have been possible without the assistance of librarians and archivists. I thank… and Bill Kostlevy at the B.L Fisher Library, Asbury Theological Seminary.” (Page xi).

(2006) Methodism: Empire of the Spirit

By David Hempton, (Winner of the quadrennial Jesse Lee Prize of the United Methodist Church’s General Commission on Archives and History), Yale University Press.

In the acknowledgements, “All historians have a special fondness for the libraries and librarians who make the otherwise lonely hours companionable. I am particularly grateful to… Bill Kostlevy in Asbury,…”

(2004) Turn the Pulpit Loose: Two Centuries of American Women Evangelists

By Priscilla Pope-Levinson, Palgrave- Macmillan,

In the acknowledgments it says,  “One of the truly delightful aspects of working on this book was getting to know enthusiastic archivists and librarians, who selflessly offered their time and services as well as wonderful conversations… Bill Kostlevy at Asbury Theological Seminary (Wilmore, Kentucky)… The kindness of each one -… and lunch at Solomon’s Porch in Wilmore Kentucky- rise to greet me as I peruse the list.” (Page xi-xii).

(2002) Waiting for Elijah: A History of the Megiddo Mission

By Gari-Anne Patzwald, University of Tennessee Press.

In the preface, “Special thanks to Dorothy James of the B.L. Fisher Library at Asbury Theological Seminary for her skillful acquiring of numerous reels of newspapers on microfilm and many obscure books and pamphlets.” (Page xiv).

(1999) A Wheel within a Wheel: Southern Methodism and the Georgia Holiness

Association

By Briane K. Turley, Mercer University Press.

In the acknowledgements, “William Kostlevy at Asbury Theological Seminary was a great source of help to me as I finished the manuscript and helped me understand at least some of the issues that southern Holiness schools grappled with in their early days.” (Page vii).

(2012) Christ-Centered Higher Education: Memory, Meaning, and Momentum

By David L. McKenna, Cascade Books, 2012.

In the acknowledgments, “Archivists are people whom I especially admire. While some might think that sorting through dusty files and reading old documents is the most boring work in the world, I see archivists serving to keep our community of memory alive so that a new generation doesn’t have to reinvent the wheel of repeat the errors of the past. Special appreciation goes to… Grace Yoder, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian at Asbury Theological Seminary… Each of these persons responded promptly and professionally to any request that I made of them. Their commitment to preserve the history of their institutions and the movement of Christ-centered higher education is a ministry worthy of recognition and honor.” (Page xiv).

(2010) Holy Jumpers: Evangelicals and Radicals in Progressive Era America

By William Kostlevy, Oxford University Press.

In the acknowledgements, “Among the other scholars and archivists I am grateful to are… Grace Yoder, archivist for Asbury Theological Seminary.”

(2010) Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement

Edited by William Kostlevy, Scarecrow Press. Second edition.

In the preface, “As with any work of this nature, the editors have been dependent on the efforts of others. Those especially warranting mention are… Grace Yoder, archivist for Asbury Theological Seminary…”

(2010) Family Crucible: The Influence of Family Dynamics in the Life of Ministry of

John Wesley

By Anthony J. Headley, Wipf & Stock.

In the acknowledgements, “Other members of Asbury’s Information Commons including Jay Endicott, Paul Tippey, and Grace Yoder helped me with various aspects of the project such as securing permissions, using archival material, and answering varied copyright questions. I offer my heartfelt thanks to all these persons.”

(2005) Early Methodist Life and Spirituality: A Reader

By Lester Ruth, Kingswood Books.

In the preface, “I am grateful for the fine, cooperative staffs at the following archives and churches: Asbury Theological Seminary,…” (Page 2).

(2002) The Meaning of Pentecost in Early Methodism

By Larry Wood, Scarecrow Press.

In the acknowledgements, “William Kostlevy and D. William Faupel of the B.L. Fisher Library of Asbury Theological Seminary have helped me over the entire period of my research, making many archival collections available to me, as well as obtaining other materials through the inter-library loan system. I was also able to learn from their extensive personal knowledge of the history of Methodism.”

(2000) With His Joy: The Life and Leadership of David McKenna

By Donald Demaray, Light and Life Communications. 

In the credits, “Grace Yoder, Asbury Seminary archival worker- and a diligent one! - supplied help and materials.” (Page 4).

(2018) 

(2019) Orphaned No More: The Boyhood Story of Rev. Henry Clay Morrison

Retold by Gary Bewley and Nancy Richey, Acclaim Press.

Illustrated by Gary Bewley

In the Foreword, "Special thanks to Asbury Theological Seminary archives and Grace Yoder..." (Page 9)