Using the ATLA Religion Database is a great place to start for journal articles on all religious studies topics including Bible. A quick tip here is to use the "Scriptures" search. Here's a guide on how to do that.
L’Année Philologique is a reference bibliography for academic publications relating to Ancient Greek and Roman Civilization. The online database including all volumes published since 1928. NOTE: Once the page loads, click on the database title to enter.
The flagship journal of the field, the Journal of Biblical Literature is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles and critical notes by members of the Society. Essential reading for over a century, it is now available online and in print.
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament offers the best in current, peer-reviewed scholarship on the Old Testament across a range of critical methodologies. Many original and creative approaches to the interpretation of the Old Testament literature and cognate fields of inquiry are pioneered in JSOT, which showcases the work of both new and established scholars.
Vetus Testamentum is a leading journal covering all aspects of Old Testament study. It includes articles on history, literature, religion and theology, text, versions, language, and the bearing on the Old Testament of archaeology and the study of the Ancient Near East. Since 1951 the journals has been generally recognized to be indispensable for scholarly work on the Old Testament.
Issues contain fascinating articles in English, French and German, a detailed book review section as well as extensive review articles.
When the Scandinavian Journal of the Old Testament was first published in 1987, it was expected to become the principal forum of Scandinavian Old Testament research. Reality has surpassed the expectations of the founders, as Scandinavian Journal of the Old Testament is rapidly becoming one of the major outlets of international Old Testament scholarship, although without losing its specific Scandinavian character.
The Zeitschrift für die Alttestamentliche Wissenschaft, which is published in four issues of 160 pages each plus supplements, has been the leading international and interconfessional periodical in the field of research in the Old Testament und Early Judaism for over one hundred years. Open to various ways of posing the questions of scholarship, the journal features high quality contributions in English, German, and French. Through its review of periodicals and books, it provides fast and reliable information concerning new publications in the field.
A highly reputed journal published since 1900, the Zeitschrift für die Neutestamentliche Wissenschaft is an international journal for the exegesis of the New Testament. Appearing annually in two issues of 150 pages each, it features original contributions in German, English, and French which have been written by well-known scholars worldwide. By accepting only high quality research papers which advance scholarship, the editors seek to retain the recognizably high niveau of the journal.
This innovative and highly acclaimed journal publishes articles on various aspects of critical biblical scholarship in a complex global context. The journal provides a medium for the development and exercise of a whole range of current interpretive trajectories, as well as deliberation and appraisal of methodological foci and resources. Alongside individual essays on various subjects submitted by authors, the journal welcomes proposals for special issues that focus on particular emergent themes and analytical trends.
The Jewish Bible Quarterly provides timely, authoritative studies on biblical themes. As the only Jewish-sponsored English-language journal devoted exclusively to the Bible, it is an essential source of information for anyone working in Bible studies. The Journal publishes original articles, book reviews, a triennial calendar of Bible reading and correspondence.
Novum Testamentum is a leading international journal devoted to the study of the New Testament and related subjects. This includes text-critical, philological, and exegetical studies, and investigations which seek to situate early Christian texts (both canonical and non-canonical) and theology in the broader context of Jewish and Graeco-Roman history, culture, religion, and literature.
Currents in Biblical Research summarizes the spectrum of recent research on particular topics or biblical books. Articles cover specific biblical books or clusters of books, ancillary ancient literature, archaeology, historical studies, as well as new and developing areas of study.
Biblical Archaeology Review is a one-of-a-kind archaeology magazine that acts as a bridge between the academic study of archaeology and a broad general audience eager to understand the world of the Bible better. Covering both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament since its beginning in 1975, BAR is the leading nonsectarian forum for the discussion of Biblical archaeology. Articles by top scholars are written for the layperson, and archaeological news, trivia and games ensure that even the most serious scholars enjoy reading the latest issue of BAR.
Journal for the Study of the New Testament is one of the leading peer-reviewed academic journals in New Testament Studies. All the many and diverse aspects of New Testament study are represented and promoted by JSNT, including innovative work from historical perspectives, studies using social-scientific and literary theory or developing theological, cultural and contextual approaches.
Published since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a peer-reviewed, research journal and appears four times a year.
It is dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research, such as exegesis, philology, and history.