Recommended Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database can be searched by Scripture citation. Click here for a tutorial.
Suggested search terms: theodicy; suffering; problem of evil
Search results:
Boase, E. (2008). Constructing meaning in the face of suffering: theodicy in Lamentations. Vetus Testamentum, 58(4-5), 449-468. doi:10.1163/156853308X325029
Scott, M. M. (2011). Theodicy at the margins: new trajectories for the problem of evil. Theology Today, 68(2), 149-152. doi:10.1177/0040573611405878
- ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new windowConsists of articles on doctrine, theology, philosophy, religion, and archaeology. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism.
Suggested search terms: theodicy; evil
Forrest, P. (2010). Why richard swinburne won't 'rot in hell': A defense of tough-minded theodicy. Sophia, 49(1), 37-47. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11841-009-0157-9
Koons, J. (2010). Natural evil as a test of faith in the abrahamic traditions. Sophia, 49(1), 15-28. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11841-009-0151-2
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowOffers full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles. Covers such topics as world religions, biblical studies, religious history, and philosophy.
Suggested search terms: theodicy; Good & evil
Danaher, J. P. (2012). The Problem of Evil from a Gospel Perspective. Evangelical Review Of Theology, 36(2), 137-142.
Duncan, S. (2012). Moral Evil, Freedom and the Goodness of God: Why Kant Abandoned Theodicy. British Journal For The History Of Philosophy, 20(5), 973-991.
