Skip to main content

Zotero

Pro Tip!

If you find a mistake in one of your citations, DO NOT edit it in MS Word.

Instead, edit the citation in Zotero, and then click on the Refresh button in MS Word.

Get a FREE Copy of MS Word

ATS students, staff, and faculty members can download MS Word 365. Use the link below for instructions on how to get it.

The Toolbar

Depending on what version of MS Word you have, the Zotero toolbar will show up one of two ways:

Newer versions of MS Word: MS Word Zotero Toolbar in Ribbon

Older versions of MS Word:
Zotero Floating Toolbar

Add a Citation

  1. Open the Zotero app on your computer.
  2. ‚ÄčTo add a citation to a MS Word document, click on the Image of Zotero Add or Edit Citation Button in the Zotero menu.
  3. The first time that you add a citation to your document, Zotero will bring up a pop up menu asking for a citation style. Choose a style and click "Okay." If you do not see the style you need, click here to search for and add a citation style to Zotero.
    Image of MS Words Citation Style Menu
  4. Use the search box to search for citations that you have added to Zotero. Click on the citation to select it.
    Image of the citation search box with an active search
  5. To add a page number, click on the citation. If you need to choose a different divider such as chapter, paragraph, or verse, use the drop down menu under "Page." Click enter.
    Image of the drop down menu used to add page numbers.
  6. If you need to add another citation, search again in the bar. Otherwise, click enter to have Zotero add the citation.Image of Citation added to MS Word from Zotero

Add a Bibliography to MS Word

  1. Place your cursor where you want your bibliography to appear.
  2. Click on the Insert Bibliography button in the Zotero toolbar.
     

If you need to add references to your bibliography that you did not cite in your paper

  1. Click on the Edit Bibliography button.
  2. Click on a citation you want to add to your bibliography.Edit Bibliography Screen
     
  3. Click on the green arrow to add the reference to your bibliography.
    Zotero Edit Bibliography screen